Skip to content

Winter reading list

September 26, 2012

Yesterday was an unexpectedly busy day. I was at a conference for 8 hours and then spent what was left of the evening planning my imminent trip to Italy which left absolutely no time for blogging. After busy days, there is nothing I want to do more than draw the curtains and crawl into bed with a good book. This got me thinking about my favourite Autumn/Winter reads, in the main, contemporary literary fiction.

My favourite book evokes a time and place so exactly that I find myself drawn to it every Christmas, one of the only holidays I spend reading books that I’m not actually publishing. That book is To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee- as soon as I met Atticus Finch, Scout and Jem, I didn’t want to leave them.

 

My Winter reading list

The Pursuit of Happiness by Douglas Kennedy- This is a mesmerising tale of loss, longing and betrayal, ultimately it’s a tragic love story. I think this book resonated with me so much when I first read it because I was coming out of a long term relationship and it amplified my own feelings of loss so much that I’m scared to read it again, even now.

Snow Falling on Cedars by David Gutersun- A haunting, coming of age tale which was part of the curriculum when I was studying literature. This is the book that made me want to write.

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien- This books needs no introduction and no explanation. The Hobbit was the reason I spent my teens reading fantasy.

Anthropology of an American Girl by Hilary Thayer Hamann- I was devastated when I finished this book, so many of my own mistakes and choices I saw reflected in its pages. It led me to seriously question my relationships.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne- I don’t think I have ever cried so much over a book. This affected me along time after I turned the last page. All I could think about was the injustice and the devastating consequences of an innocent friendship.

 

I’d love to hear any of your book recommendations…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

