Skip to content

Once a year

October 9, 2012

Every year, just as Winter rears its head and I’m hauling cosy knits and chunky scarves out of storage, I escape to Italy for a week of exploring. For the past two years I have been with my mum, it’s become a little bit of a tradition and one of the only opportunities we get to spend more than two days together all year. In 2010 we visited Rome and in 2011 it was Tuscany so this year, we’re heading to southern Italy to explore Campania. On the (very loose) itinerary we are planning on visiting Naples, Sorrento, Pompeii, Vesuvius, and (the part I’m most excited about) a day on the beaches of Capri.

Italy is one of my favourite countries to visit, mainly because I’m a huge foodie and can’t wait to try out some of the local specialties in Campania which includes an abundance of  seafood and the ‘best pizza in the world’. To get me ready for the trip, I have experimented with a new recipe and Neapolitan specialty, spaghetti con le vongole (spaghetti with live clams). I found the recipe on The Guardian website and it turned out better than I could have hoped for, it’s fast become my new favourite pasta dish.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thebuttonupblog permalink
    October 9, 2012 6:04 pm

    Have a wonderful trip! Xx

    • cashmerekitchen permalink*
      October 11, 2012 3:12 pm

      Ah thank you, I’m so looking forward to it x

Leave a Reply

