Skip to content

Define Happiness

November 1, 2012

What really makes people happy? I consider myself to be a genuinely happy person but it’s also something I actively pursue. Recently I’ve been questioning particular areas of my life and have decided to make a few small changes that I hope will help me to feel more fulfilled and ultimately happier.

1. Volunteer

I have been thinking about volunteering for a cause I believe in for quite some time but life inevitably got in the way. It’s easy to donate and I think that’s a brilliant way to support a cause but I would really like to volunteer my time. I have been looking into volunteering opportunities in my area and have narrowed my choices down to either volunteering with children or animals. I can think of no better way to spend my time than supporting a cause I believe in and donating my time.

2. Look after my body

I am happiest in myself when I feel healthy and that for me, starts with exercising. I generally eat healthily but have let exercise fall by the way side and I really miss an evening run or yoga class- it’s how I de-stress after a long day.

3. Do a good deed

I’ve never donated blood, it’s something so small that would take a few minutes but could make a huge difference to someone else, it’s one of the good deeds I plan on doing regularly, going forward. I think you can boost your own happiness by making someone else happy- this can be anything from helping someone struggling with baggage on the tube to passing along useful information to a colleague at work.

4. Learn something new

There are so many subjects I want to know more about, I wish I could spend my days reading and researching (well, I do read a lot since I work in publishing!) I’d like to learn a language, learn to play chess and after several failed attempts, finally learn how to knit.

I’m hoping that a few small changes will make a big impact on my personal well-being.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nick Parsons permalink
    November 2, 2012 11:27 pm

    Ignorance is happiness.

Leave a Reply

