Skip to content

Uninspired

January 29, 2013

I don’t know about you, but I am finding it very hard to stay inspired at the moment. It’s really cold outside. It gets dark early. Christmas is over and I have no holidays to look forward to (yet, anyway). Maybe it’s just me, but everything combined is making it really hard for me to stay inspired, especially when it comes to blogging. In my defense, I do have slightly less time on my hands this year but am keen to dream up ways to keep myself motivated.

240661173807175219_Mlr6Cab4_c

1. It’s your choice.

Inspiration is not always going to find you. There are times when you just don’t feel it. Maybe the weather has you feeling blue (that’s how I’m feeling this week!). Maybe you are going through some painful circumstances, like a break up or losing your job. Maybe you’re just tired, feeling worn out and in need of a break. We all go through situations like these. And chances are, the people you look up to went through them too. It’s your choice how you will deal with it. You can choose to press on with little inspiration or be defeated. This may sound like a responsibility or chore, but I think it’s super empowering if you are actively creating something you’re proud of.

2. Start NOW.

I’m guilty of it myself but too many times I hear friends say “one day when I have X I will be happy.” You can fill in the blank with your own perceived limitations: money, a better job, a more supportive relationship, more time, etc. Don’t wait for life to be perfect. It never will be. Start living your life the way you want it to be, today. Maybe you don’t have lots of extra cash to start an expensive hobby, this is why I like to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I live on a really tight budget (my habit to spend all free cash on clothes is to blame), but I still wanted to teach myself something in my free time. I have to eat so learning new recipes seemed like a good place to start.

3. Make goals and do them.

It’s no secret I like plans, lists and making goals I can achieve (most recently with New Year’s resolutions). It might not work for you but giving myself a goal gives me structure and something to work towards and achieve. It’s OK to start small, just as long as you start. But if you’re feeling it then dream big, and make a tangible plan to get there. Break it down into steps.  Start a challenge or set a goal today and watch yourself gain confidence and feel inspired as you work to accomplish it.

4. Get out and dream.

Sometimes you just need to go somewhere and fill a notebook with ideas, I like to do this when I’m commuting into work. Write a list of all the things you want to see, achieve and learn- there is something so satisfying about ticking achievements off your list. I have begun to carry a small notebook with me so when I suddenly get a big idea I want to write about, I don’t forget it. Begin this weekend, make goals and start ticking them off in 2013.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

