Skip to content

Caprese bruschetta

February 18, 2013

caprese bruschetta

This weekend, I rediscovered my love of the Caprese salad (I think I could survive on cheese alone) and have today found myself craving more Italian food, particularly bruschetta. Bruschetta is one my favorite dishes, quick and simple but topped with mozzarella and tomato, still manages to satisfy, plus  I love that I can find all the ingredients at the local farmers’ market/ deli.  I’ve mastered a simple recipe that really enhances the sweetness of the tomato, the peppery taste of basil and the fruity aroma of the olive oil.  Here are my little added touches for making it just right.

-Use high quality extra virgin olive oil.  Trust me, it’s worth the extra money.
-If you can find some, buy a loaf of rustic, Artisan bread (I love Sourdough from Waitrose).
-Cut the garlic in half and rub the open end on the freshly toasted bread.  The heat from the bread melts the garlic evenly without being overpowering.
-Finish with a touch of Maldon sea salt.

Instructions (not that it really requires it!)

Toast the sourdough bread for a couple of minutes on each side and immediately rub with a garlic clove, drizzle with olive oil and top with mozzarella and tomato, fresh basil leaves and a sprinkle of salt. I love to drizzle balsamic glaze over the bruschetta for a finishing touch. Devour.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

